Elder-Friendly Communities

The Center for Aging & Values has created a matrix identifying 10 domains that are essential in creating an “elder-friendly” community.   When adopted by local government or groups, these metrics provide a road map for improving services not just for elders, but for everyone in the community.   For more information on how to obtain the metrics and conduct a needs survey, please contact the Center for Aging & Values.

The 10 Elder-Friendly domains are:

  1. Housing
  2. Healthcare
  3. Transportation
  4. Nutrition
  5. Employment
  6. Recreation
  7. Spiritual Needs
  8. Arts
  9. Life-long Learning
  10. Inter-generational Collaboration

Metrics include definitions for each domain and measurable targets for determining rates of inclusion of elders within the community and the community’s level of meeting the needs of elders.

Click Elder-Friendly Matrix to download the matrix.